职能干预(occupational therapy)是什么意思?乍一眼看去,好像云里雾里,对于我们大部分人来说,首先想到的就是,这也许与occupation也就是“职能”二字有关,看似与工作或职业相关。

然而, “这里的职能是指人们在社会和家庭的身份,指的人们在社会和家庭中的一切日常活动,无论是具有生活目的和意义的,还是只是为了打发时间。职能,包括人们需要、想要和他人期待你做的事情。王鸿铨解释道。职能干预作为一种干预手段,可以帮助人们锻炼日常活动所需的必备技能。职能干预也可以被用来帮助那些经历过疾病或事故的人重新开始独立生活,鸿铨在加入学建前就是从事这样的工作。

学建,王鸿铨既参与 全日制项目, 施行又是 咨询和干预服务 团队的一员。在全日制项目中,孩子们亲切地喊他“红线老师”或是“Mr. Ong”,他帮助有特殊需求的孩子培养生活技能,这些技能将帮助孩子们日后轻松地应对日常生活以及他们在学校的学习生活;他同时也为家庭提供咨询和干预服务,针对孩子的不同需要,为他们提供评估、咨询和职能干预。

每个来学建的孩子都有着不同的需求,所以红线老师每天的工作都维系在孩子们的需要上。他定期与项目负责人会面,为项目的进行提供咨询。在开始职能干预之前,他会观察孩子在自然场景中的情况,通常是在他们的学建项目日常活动中的情况。基于这些信息,他可以根据每个孩子的条件和需要和来调整自己的干预方法。 

 

为了更好地解释这一切是如何进行的,让我们 共同走进 “红线老师”的一天:

8:00 – 9:00 am

红线老师来到学建中心,开始为一天做准备。他与项目负责人碰面,讨论当天的计划。

9:00 – 9:30 am 

这一天的第一个项目是push-in职能干预课。在这个模式里,职能干预专家进入目标孩子所参与的集体活动中(比如课堂)提供干预,以支持孩子的学习。

在今天的活动中,他的支持对象是一个有注意力问题的孩子。这个孩子很容易分心,他因为有很高的感觉需求而经常在群体活动时四处走动,因而不能完成分配给他的任务。

为了帮助这个孩子,红线老师会为他提供感觉上的调适。每隔十分钟左右,红线老师会把他带到一旁,通过和他玩一些游戏来刺激他的平衡感或协调感。之后,孩子回到集体活动中去集中精力完成他的任务。

红线老师同时注意到,教室里的一些噪音可能会分散这孩子的注意力,他因此给孩子准备了一个降噪耳机。当孩子看起来烦躁不安,红线老师会给他一个陀螺玩,还有一个弹力球让他坐上去,以此给他一些感觉刺激。这可以帮助孩子冷静下来,把注意力集中在课堂上的指令上。

9:30 – 10:00 am

接下来是pull-out干预课。与push-in不同,在这个模式里,老师会将孩子从集体环境中带出,在单独的环境中集中帮助其改善所需的技能。

今天,他为一名动作技能发展迟缓的孩子设计了一个障碍项目。因为孩子在体育活动中跟不上同龄人,所以他的发展的困境导致了缺乏自信和安全感。

针对这一点,在孩子参与障碍项目的过程中,红线老师提供了“刚刚好”的帮助,这意味着在孩子翻越障碍的时候为他提供不多不少的肢体支持,使其既具有挑战性,又不会难到让孩子丧失动力。这样,孩子就能够既享受完成任务,同时渐渐地提高自己的动作技能,从而建立自信心。

10:00 – 10:30 am

随后,红线老师又为另一个孩子进行了pull-out干预。这个孩子三岁,触觉非常敏感。在运动室活动时,他总是拒绝脱鞋。

为了帮助孩子适应不穿鞋的感觉,在知道孩子喜欢玩具火车后,红线老师就先和他一起玩玩具火车,慢慢地,假装不小心弄掉了孩子的鞋子,他道歉说: “对不起,我来帮你穿鞋。但在帮你穿鞋之前,我们得先把火车收起来。”当孩子全神贯注于一项有趣的任务时,他就不会强烈地想要马上穿回鞋子。

接着,红线老师又试着让他脱下鞋子去荡秋千,这也是他最喜欢的活动之一。这一次,孩子开始变得心烦意乱。作为一名职能干预专家,帮助孩子处理情绪调节方面的困难是日常工作的一部分。由于以前接触过这个孩子,红线老师在继续之前,会和他耐心地沟通,以确保他能控制自己的情绪不升级。

10:30 – 11:00 am

接下来是小组干预项目。这个项目专为接受早期干预的小朋友们而设,他们的年龄在3岁至6岁之间。

在小组项目中,红线老师注重营造群体环境,让孩子们在他的指导下学会如何与他人进行健康的互动。

在这个项目中,红线老师运用游戏干预来帮助孩子们学习社交技巧和轮流做事情的概念,同时帮助他们探索自己的身体和周遭环境。透过游戏,他也可以引导这些年幼的学习者去探索和发展不同的感官。

11:00 – 11:30 am

现在,红线老师在为生活技能项目的孩子们进行小组干预。这些孩子的年龄从青少年到青年不等。

生活技能项目的孩子通过这一小组项目学习如何与他人相处,并增加体育活动。红线老师先是引导孩子们一起讨论要玩什么游戏,以此帮助他们一边为接下来的体能任务做准备,一边练习社交技能。经过讨论,孩子们一致决定玩一种捉人游戏。

11:30 am-noon 

在最后一次小组项目后,红线老师又回到另一个一对一项目中。这一次,他帮助的是一个动作发育迟缓的少年。

这个孩子由于本体觉较弱(本体觉是指在运动过程中告诉我们关于位置、力量、方向和身体各部位的动作的一种感觉信息),难以模仿动作和姿势。因此,他对打结的动作有困难,而打结是系鞋带所需的一项重要技能,这也是职能干预范畴的一项日常生活活动。

因为系鞋带是孩子今天的主要任务,红线老师采取了活动分解的方法,一步一步地分解动作,找出哪些工具会让这项技能学习更容易。通过前期的咨询和观察,他发现孩子已具备了系鞋带所需的技能,只是需要更多鼓励。

于是, 红线老师将系鞋带的步骤分解成多个动作,让孩子能够分别学习和完成动作各个部分,最终逐渐将它们串联结合起来。

Noon – 1:00 pm

终于到了午餐时间。这段休息时间对于红线老师来说也是一个宝贵的机会,可以用来观察孩子午休期间对自然场景的反应。这使他进一步了解他们的行为和需求。

1:00 – 3:00 pm

午后的职能干预项目开始了。这些项目的形式与早上相同,包括30分钟的pull-in或pull-out干预课和小组项目。每个项目都是独一无二的,是针对每个孩子或每组孩子的特定需求和发展阶段而量身定制的。

3:00 – 4:00 pm

项目部的当天工作收尾的时候,红线老师会参加一个IEP(个别化教育计划)会议。在这里,他同所有与孩子相关的人员面谈,如言语语言病理学家、项目负责人、课堂项目督导,以及孩子的家长。这些会议以圆桌会议的形式举行,包括讨论孩子的具体需求和目标,以及为了实现这些目标如何去优化团队方案。对于每个孩子,IEP会议会在每6个月举行一次,以此评估他们的进展,并在必要时作出调整。

平时红线老师会记录下当天他所负责的孩子的表现,从而为日后的项目安排做准备,为IEP会议做好准备,并与孩子的干预团队和家长进行沟通。

4:00 – 5:00 pm 

常常在项目部工作结束后,红线老师还需要为咨询和干预服务部预约的孩子提供个训。这些个训的时间安排更加灵活,独立于项目部的工作时间。在需要的时候,他也会去到孩子的家里。

孩子的父母反映女儿有书写困难。孩子因为字迹潦草在学校里很难跟上进度。在进行干之前,红线老师必须先评估这个问题的潜在原因。可能是因为视觉处理困难,也可能是书写姿势不正确,或者是手指动作不协调,亦或是综合几种因素?

通过与孩子的父母坐下来聊天并观察她在家里的一举一动,红线老师获得了更多信息,孩子目前困境的根本原因与她的视觉处理能力有关。他让孩子先看着面前的椅子,然后把注意力转移到他的手指上。孩子觉得把注意力重新聚焦在手指上非常困难。当孩子阅读课本的第一段时,她的视觉焦点会从一行跳到另一行。

红线老师深知,在干预的过程中激励孩子们参与任务对提高干预效果非常重要。因此,他的部分工作是设计出吸引孩子的训练方法,而不是那些他们通常在学校里做的。

这一次,红线老师从经典的“杯子和球”游戏开始,他把一个物体扣在三个杯子当中的一个下面,然后打乱三个杯子的位置让孩子猜出这个物体藏在哪个杯子里。刚开始,他慢慢地移动杯子,让孩子们在视觉上能跟上杯子移动的速度,然后再逐渐加快移动的速度。

接下来的游戏中,他让孩子的眼神跟着他的激光笔在墙上移动。他会描绘不同字母的形状,让她说出他在描绘的是什么。

记录下孩子的表现,然后在结尾的时候和孩子的父母坐下来,讨论家庭能做些什么来改善孩子的视觉处理能力。在离开前,他写下下次见面的计划并于家长进行讨论。

每个孩子都是独一无二的。相同的职能干预的手段用在不同的孩子身上,即使孩子的相同,得到的效果也不尽相同的。为了孩子们更好的成长和提升能力,我们的每一天,每一刻都必须保持耐心,充满创意和知识储备,这就是职能干预专家王鸿铨

Follow by Email
LinkedIn
Share
Weibo
WeChat

The meaning of occupational therapy might not be immediately obvious at first glance. For most of us, the first thought that comes to mind would probably be related to the meaning of occupation as a job or employment.

However, as occupational therapist Hongsian Ong explains, “Occupations refer to the everyday activities that people do as individuals, families, and communities, to occupy time and bring meaning and purpose to their lives. Occupations include things people need to, want to, and are expected to do.” Occupational therapy is a form of therapy that helps people foster the skills required to perform activities essential to daily life. This could mean rehabilitating people who have gone through an illness or an accident back to independence in daily life, as was the case in Hongsian’s role before joining ELG.

At ELG, Hongsian divides his time between the full-time program, where he assists learners with special needs to develop the life skills needed to get through their day at school or at home with ease, and services in the community, where he provides assessments, consultations, and occupational therapy to children with a range of needs.

Since every child coming through ELG has different needs, Hongsian’s days are never boring. Hongsian has regular meetings with program leaders to provide consultations. Before beginning occupational therapy, he observes children in their natural environments, usually their ELG program activities. With this information, he tailors his methods to best suit each learner’s needs and circumstances. 

 

To better understand how this all works, let’s take a look at what one day is like for Hongsian in his role as an occupational therapist:

8:00 – 9:00 am

Hongsian arrives at ELG and begins preparing for the day. He meets with a program leader to discuss the day’s plan.

9:00 – 9:30 am 

The first session of the day is a push-in occupational therapy session. For push-in sessions, Hongsian accompanies and supports an individual learner while they carry out activities in a group environment, such as a class.

In today’s session, he is helping a child who has an attention problem. The child is easily distracted, and because he has high sensory needs, often wanders around during group activities without completing his assigned tasks.

To assist the child, Hongsian provides him with sensory accommodations. Every ten minutes or so, Hongsian pulls him aside from the group and plays games that stimulate his sense of balance or coordination. Afterward, the child goes back to the group activity to focus on his task.

Hongsian also senses that the noisiness of the room might be distracting the child, so he gets a noise reducing headset for him. The child is looking restless, so Hongsian brings over a fidget spinner for him to play with and a Swiss ball for him to sit on, to provide him with some sensory stimulation. This helps the child calm down and focus on the lesson’s instructions.

9:30 – 10:00 am

Next up is a pull-out therapy session. As opposed to a pull-in session, a pull-out session consists of Hongsian taking an individual child out from a group environment to focus on helping them improve skills they need to work on in an isolated environment.

Today, he has planned an obstacle course for a child who has a delay in motor skill development. This delay has resulted in the child having low confidence and a sense of insecurity because he isn’t able to keep up with his peers during physical activities.

To address this, as the learner makes his way through the obstacle course, Hongsian provides “just right” assistance, which means just enough physical support for the obstacle course to be challenging, without it being so difficult as to make it demotivating. This way, the learner can slowly improve his motor skill functions, while still accomplishing his task, thereby building confidence.

10:00 – 10:30 am

Hongsian has another pull-out session lined up. This child is three years old and is very sensitive to touch. He always refuses to take off his shoes for activities in the gym.

To help acclimate the child to taking off his shoes, Hongsian first plays with toy trains with him, which he knows the child likes. Slowly, Hongsian pretends to accidentally take off the learner’s shoes. He apologizes and says, “I’m sorry, I’ll help you put on your shoes. But first, we have to put away the trains before you put on your shoes.” As the child is now preoccupied with a fun task, he doesn’t feel as strongly about needing his shoes back on right away.

Following that, Hongsian tries to get the child to take off his shoes again to play on the swing, which is another favorite activity of his. This time, the child starts to get upset. Helping children deal with difficulties in emotional regulation is a regular part of Hongsian’s role as an occupational therapist. As Hongsian has worked with this learner before, he talks him through it before continuing, to make sure he can keep his emotions from escalating.

10:30 – 11:00 am

A group session is next on the schedule. This session is for an early intervention group of learners, whose ages range from three to six years old.

For group sessions, Hongsian fosters group environments where children learn how to have healthy interactions with each other under his guidance.

In this session, Hongsian uses play therapy to help the children learn social skills and turn-taking while helping them explore their bodies and their environment. The games also allow Hongsian to guide these young learners to explore and develop their different senses.

11:00 – 11:30 am

Hongsian now has a group session with learners in the life skills program. These learners range from teens to young adults.

This group session allows the learners in the life skills program to learn to interact with each other and increase their physical activity. Hongsian guides the learners to hold a discussion on what game to play together, working on social skills while preparing for the physical tasks ahead. After talking it through, they agree on a game of tag.

11:30 am-noon 

After the last group session, Hongsian is back to another individual session. This time, he’s helping a learner with motor development delays.

The child has difficulty imitating movements and positions due to his poor proprioception, which is his sense of the relative position of his body parts and strength during a movement. As a result, he has difficulty tying a knot, an important skill for tying shoelaces, which occupational therapists consider an ADL, or activity of daily living.

With tying a shoelace knot as today’s task for the learner, Hongsian conducts what is called an activity analysis, breaking down the action step-by-step and figuring out which tools would make the skill easier to learn. Through prior consultations and observations, Hongsian had determined that the learner has the skills for the activity, but has just been discouraged.

To teach this learner, Hongsian uses back chaining. This means that he first makes the ribbons on the shoelaces and then gets the child to put the loop through the hole. Once the child is able to do that successfully, Hongsian teaches him to make the ribbons. Through this process, the learner can complete and learn all parts of the action separately, before gradually putting it all together.

Noon – 1:00 pm

It’s finally lunchtime. For Hongsian, this break also provides a valuable opportunity to observe his learners reacting to their natural environment. This allows him to gain further understanding of their needs and behaviors.

1:00 – 3:00 pm

After lunch, Hongsian gets back to his occupational therapy sessions. These sessions follow the same format as the half-hour long pull-in/pull-out individual sessions and group sessions from the morning. Every session is unique and tailored towards the specific needs and developmental stage of each learner or group of learners.

3:00 – 4:00 pm

Before wrapping up his day in the program, Hongsian attends an IEP (Individualized Education Plan) meeting. This is where Hongsian meets with all the people involved with an individual learner, such as speech-language pathologists, the program leader, the program facilitator, and the child’s parents. These meetings are held as a roundtable and involve discussion of the child’s specific needs and goals, and how to optimize the team’s approach towards meeting these. For each child, an IEP meeting is held every six months to evaluate their progress and make adjustments where necessary.

On days that he doesn’t have an IEP meeting, Hongsian documents the performance of the learners he’s worked with that day, to facilitate his planning for other days, contribute to IEP preparation, and communicate with the child’s therapy team and parents. 

4:00 – 5:00 pm 

Often, after his day at the program department, Hongsian has sessions with clients in ELG’s services department. These sessions are on a more flexible schedule, outside of the program department’s hours. Today’s session will be held at the client’s home, so Hongsian makes his way over.

The parents greet him and welcome him in. They tell Hongsian that their daughter has writing difficulties. Her illegible handwriting has made it difficult for her to keep up at school.

Before he can begin therapy sessions, Hongsian must first assess the underlying cause of this issue. Could it be a problem with visual processing, poor handwriting posture, uncoordinated finger movements, or a combination of these?

After getting more information from a sit-down chat with the parents and observing the child around the house, it becomes apparent to Hongsian that her visual processing is the root cause of her difficulties. He asks her to look at the chair in front of her and tells her to move her focus to his finger. She finds it hard to regain focus on his finger. When she reads from the first paragraph of her schoolbook, her visual focus jumps from line to line.

Hongsian understands that motivating children to participate in tasks during therapy is very important for effectiveness. Therefore, part of his job is to come up with training methods that are captivating, rather than tasks that children would usually do at school.

For this therapy session, he begins with the classic cups and ball trick, where he hides an object in one of three cups, shuffles them around, and gets the child to guess where the object is. He starts slow, initially moving the cups around at a pace that the child can keep up with visually, then gradually increases the shuffling speed.

Next, they play a game where he gets the child to follow his laser pointer around a wall. He traces the shape of different letters and gets her to call out what he’s tracing.

Wrapping up, he takes some notes on her performance before sitting down to talk to her parents about what they can do to help improve her visual processing. He writes down his plan for their next session and discusses it with them before leaving.

Every child is unique. Even for children with the same diagnosis, different techniques and methodologies within occupational therapy may be more effective than others. Hongsian must thus be creative, knowledgeable, and patient throughout the day, every day, to help children grow and improve their skills.

Follow by Email
LinkedIn
Share
Weibo
WeChat