时间:2019年10月25 – 10月27日
地点:音昱水中天养生度假区(中国江苏省苏州市工业园区阳澄环路199号)

什么是元认知教学?

 
元认知教学旨在教会学生如何思考并进行自我管理、自我分析和自我反思。元认知教学不仅适用于学习,也可用来改善行为,提高学生完成任务的能力以及其整体身心健康。在元认知教学理念中,拥有思考、学习和实践的意识远比学习的内容更重要。
 
在为期三天的强化培训中,教师将学习多种循证的实用技能,以期将这些技能立即应用到未来的教学活动中。
 
通过学习元认知教学方法,教师可以对自己的教学方式进行调整,从而促进学生的:
  • 独立学习能力
  • 任务执行功能
  • 课堂中的身心安全感
  • 多语言环境中的语言习得和言语发展
  • 阅读和读写困难改善
  • 其他与学习和身心发展的相关领域

此次密集培训将提供多达11小时以上的工作坊,除此之外音昱水中天还将在静谧的养生憩所为教师们提供身心静修活动与社交活动。

适合人群

 
此次培训面向幼儿园和小学的教育工作者,教育者将通过学习如何促进学生的主动积极性,去培养越来越多的独立学习者。
 
工作坊的幻灯片和课程资料将为中英双语(读写困难干预工作坊的课程讲解和资料将为全英文)。学员也可按语言偏好选择由普通话或英文讲解的工作坊。

培训内容和讲师介绍

 
 

主题演讲:介绍元认知教学

Kimberley McKenna,学建言语语言病理学家

元认知教学关键在于打造合适的学校环境,使之能够鼓励所有人在遇到问题的时候积极思考他们的所思所想、感受、行为、以及可能的解决方案。简而言之,元认知是调整我们的方式,比如把“坐下”和“把铅笔拿出来”这样的常见指令变为“你现在应该在哪?”和“我们现在需要什么?”,让学生们有机会自己去思考。教学也需要让孩子们团结协作,回答诸如“如果我遇到了难题该怎么办?”一类的问题,从而促进全班相互协作、共同寻找解决方案。面对这些问题,孩子们会得到更多锻炼机会,变得善于自我调节、独立,学习上更为井井有条,同时还能够提高他们的总体认知能力。这对于任何年龄阶段的儿童(也包括成人)都是十分有益的。让我们一起通过元认知教学练习让孩子们作自己大脑的主人吧!

语言:英文授课+中英双语讲稿

主题演讲:把神经科学的理念注入教学

郭峰,学建心理学家

通过了解大脑的发展规律,我们可以理解和走进不同年龄和发展阶段的孩子们的世界。在有了这些认识后,我们这次将侧重学习适合幼儿园和小学的孩子们独特神经发展特点的元认识教学方法,进而促进他们在学校的全面发展。

语言:英文授课+中英双语讲稿

如何利用元认知寓教于乐和管理行为

罗雪丽博士,学建创始人和高级言语语言病理学家 & 陈俐颖,学建言语语言病理学家

此工作坊将探讨如何在教学中开展寓教于乐的方式,如何在游戏中最大程度地利用主题式教学,如何在以游戏为基础的教学环境中考量学生的进步,并分享课堂实用策略和思路。此外,我们还将探讨如何借助元认识的方式,通过辨别孩子不同行为背后的目的并依此进行回应,来更有效地管理课堂上的问题行为。这些行为的目的或许是 “吸引注意力”或“逃避任务”。

语言:英文授课+中英双语讲稿

如何用正念应对压力

Olivia Xiao, Octave Life Coach & Mindfulness Trainer

通过正念,我们可以更明确、更平和和更聪明地去面对当今快节奏的世界和我们内心的不确定性。它让我们从麻木的自动循环中跳脱出来,让我们能够实时地观察、思考和感受我们每天遇到的各种情绪。此工作坊将介绍一些工具和策略,以帮助大家运用技能、同理心和智慧来改善我们的个人生活和职业生涯。加入我们,和我们共同探索如何将这个古老的方法纳入当前的生活,让我们不仅仅是在生存,更能每天都享受生活。
您将学习如何采用策略(如冥想)、加强洞察力(如自爱),利用正念减轻压力和焦虑。其中包括探索个人的处世模式,以及如何避免形成容易引发焦虑的期待。

语言:中文授课+中英双语讲稿

多语言语境下支持言语语言发展的元认知策略

Kimberley McKenna,学建言语语言病理学家

这个工作坊的侧重点在于如何更好地支持多语言儿童的言语语言发展。通过培训,希望能够加深老师们对于儿童语言发展的理解,帮助老师们在课堂上探索实践不同方法。我们还将探讨,在遇到有言语语言困难的孩子或不积极参与的孩子时,如何利用视觉辅助和元认知提示去鼓励孩子们发掘积极思考策略。我们还将通过角色扮演的方式重现教学中有挑战的情形。

语言:英文授课+中英双语讲稿

通过情感联结来管理儿童的行为

Carol Wang, Ph.D., AITIA Family Learning Center Director

通过一系列练习,我们将探索帮助建立师生情感联结的自我分析方法和策略。我们将从分析沟通模式开始,探讨在沟通中理解各种情绪的重要性。我们将探讨如何发展情商,并与您的各种情绪“交朋友”。然后我们会转向学生的视角,安排一场能够提高自我探索的活动,理解情绪、思维、行为和需求是如何联系起来的。我们会帮助您评估您的自我意识,并指出在倾听中会出现的常见错误。
在这个工作坊中,您还将了解如何处理情绪,以便更有效地管理学生的行为,包括情感参与的“五步计划”。 您将有机会借鉴到一些正确实施这五步计划的案例。

语言:中文授课+中英双语讲稿

结合元认知与多感官方式进行读写障碍干预

Miriam McBreen,在读博士,学建阅读专家

在帮助有疑似或确诊有阅读障碍的孩子时,很难仅利用基础资源形成有效的处理策略。这个工作坊重点关注如何帮助孩子理解自己独特的阅读困难情况,以及如何通过个性化的元认知方法进行个人与课堂的介入活动。另外,您也会学到如何插入能够调动更多感官的学习方法,同时运用声音、视觉、动作、触觉等,让个人和全班都能从中受益。有证据表明,这种方法能够加强记忆,尤其对于写作语言(阅读)的学习格外有效。最终的目标是能够通过自我理解(我了解我独特的阅读困难)、自助(我掌握对我而言有效的策略……我也知道如何创造新的策略)和自信(我能做到!)创造长远的影响。

语言:英文授课+中英双语讲稿

利用元认知促进情绪学习

郭峰,学建心理学家

元认知经常被作为一种可以培养学习能力的方法所提及, 其实,它还可以有效被用于改善行为和情绪管理。 这个工作坊将由一位心理学家主持,我们将探索利用元认知培养心理健康发展的不同方式。这些技巧不仅对心理学家和咨询师们非常重要,对与孩子们朝夕相处的老师们也非常实用。

语言:中文授课+中英双语讲稿

如何用正念应对压力

Olivia Xiao, Octave Life Coach & Mindfulness Trainer

通过正念,我们可以更明确、更平和和更聪明地去面对当今快节奏的世界和我们内心的不确定性。它让我们从麻木的自动循环中跳脱出来,让我们能够实时地观察、思考和感受我们每天遇到的各种情绪。此工作坊将介绍一些工具和策略,以帮助大家运用技能、同理心和智慧来改善我们的个人生活和职业生涯。加入我们,和我们共同探索如何将这个古老的方法纳入当前的生活,让我们不仅仅是在生存,更能每天都享受生活。
您将学习如何采用策略(如冥想)、加强洞察力(如自爱),利用正念减轻压力和焦虑。其中包括探索个人的处世模式,以及如何避免形成容易引发焦虑的期待。

语言:英文授课+中英双语讲稿

有益于身心健康的创造力活动

陈听听,学建艺术干预专家

注:陈听听是内地唯一的一位说中文的美国注册的艺术治疗师。

您将这个工作坊中学到一些可在学校让孩子们一起参与的互动性活动,让孩子深入发掘自己充满活力、创意,甚至是脆弱的部分。这类活动能够辅助有关自我和他人的元认知思考,并且可以通过不同的活动编排,进而达到提高自信、自我表达、感受意识、社交能力、凝聚力和共同幸福感的目的。这将是一次体验式培训,我们会练习一些方便在学校课程中采用的技巧和活动,同时针对提升全班的参与性,探索一些在任何课程中都可以采用的广泛技巧。

语言:中文授课+中英双语讲稿

预防职业倦怠:学校里的自助和互助

陈听听,学建艺术干预专家

注:陈听听是内地唯一的一位说中文的美国注册的艺术治疗师。

和他们所教的学生一样,国际学校的老师和管理者常常也是克服巨大压力取得优异成绩的佼佼者。对于外派的老师和管理者,当他们身在异乡,可能意味着在他们最需要支持的时候周遭的支持系统却突然出现了中断。因此,倦怠、疲惫、焦虑、冷漠和自我忽视等问题都十分常见。通过与学生和同事之间产生的反移情作用,这种倦怠也许会蔓延到整个学校社区内。在这个工作坊中,我们将探讨关爱自己和他人的重要性,尝试可以在家里和学校使用的一些自我表达和其他创造性的干预活动。最后,我们将就如何与同事分享和示范这些做法制定策略,以提高整个学校的福祉。

语言:中文授课+中英双语讲稿

通过情感联结来管理儿童的行为

Carol Wang, Ph.D., AITIA Family Learning Center Director

通过一系列练习,我们将探索帮助建立师生情感联结的自我分析方法和策略。我们将从分析沟通模式开始,探讨在沟通中理解各种情绪的重要性。我们将探讨如何发展情商,并与您的各种情绪“交朋友”。然后我们会转向学生的视角,安排一场能够提高自我探索的活动,理解情绪、思维、行为和需求是如何联系起来的。我们会帮助您评估您的自我意识,并指出在倾听中会出现的常见错误。
在这个工作坊中,您还将了解如何处理情绪,以便更有效地管理学生的行为,包括情感参与的“五步计划”。 您将有机会借鉴到一些正确实施这五步计划的案例。

语言:英文授课+中英双语讲稿

费用

培训费用为8800元,包含以下内容:
  1. 为期3天的元认知教学强化培训。培训由具有资质的干预专家提供,专家领域包括言语语言病理学、心理学、阅读与学习支持。
  2. 音昱水中天意行互动学习区两晚住宿(10月25日周五入住,10月27日周日退房)。
  3. 10月25日(周五)的午餐与晚餐;10月26日(周六)三餐;10月27日(周日)早餐。
  4. 音昱水中天身心静修活动。
  5. 税费及手续费。
以下费用自理:
  1. 个人往返交通费用
  2.  额外的水疗或身心静修服务(可享受学员折扣)

欲了解付款方式或进行预订,请发邮件至 events@chinaelg.com

培训语言

除了读写困难干预工作坊外,所有课程幻灯片都将提供英语和简体中文对照。
 
每次同一时间段将有两场不同语言的工作坊平行进行,学员也可按语言偏好选择由普通话或英文讲解的工作坊。
 
所有幻灯片讲义和课程资料将在培训结束后同统一发送给学员。

培训地点

本次培训在风景优美的苏州音昱水中天养生度假区举行。学员将在意行互动学习区住宿,身心静修活动也在此进行。

音昱水中天坐落于苏州国家级旅游度假区阳澄湖半岛——一座面积为18.9万平方米的沉浸式养生憩所,距苏州市中心仅需15分钟,从上海出发仅需1小时。音昱水中天专为修身养性打造,在这里您可以探索与自身、他人和自然的联系。

音昱水中天主导园区由世界著名建筑设计师曹慰祖先生亲手打造,这座大型养生学习建筑群体现了他对理想社区的独到理解。度假区的典礼堂因其杰出的室内外设计已荣获多项建筑奖项,包括英国蓝图设计大奖、2017年APIDA奖以及A&D Trophy奖。

音昱水中天采用天然建筑材料,对空间利用、个人与公共空间的平衡等概念进行了重新思考,从而实现了更紧密的社区联结。

报名过程遇到任何问题,请随时联系我们,联系邮箱 events@chinaelg.com 。

Date: October 25-27, 2019
Location: Sangha Wellness Retreat by Octave
199 Yang Cheng Ring Road, Suzhou Industrial Park, Jiangsu Province, China 中国江苏省苏州市工业园区阳澄环路199号

Introduction to Metacognitive Teacher Training

Metacognitive teaching gets students to think, self-regulate, self-analyze, and self-reflect. It doesn’t only apply to academics, but to behavior, task completion, and overall well-being. It’s an awareness of one’s thinking, learning, and performance ABOVE the subject matter.
 
In this three-day intensive training, teachers will gain practical, evidence-based skills they can implement in their schools immediately.
 
Through the metacognitive approaches introduced at this training, attendees will adjust their teaching to promote:
  • Learning independence
  • Executive functioning
  • Feelings of safety and security in the classroom
  • Language acquisition and speech development in a multilingual environment
  • Reading and dyslexia interventions
  • and more!

 

In addition to over 11 hours of workshops, Octave will provide wellness and social activities at their peaceful retreat center.

Target Audience

This training is for kindergarten and primary school teachers looking to further their knowledge of how students can become more engaged and independent learners. 
 
Except for the dyslexia interventions presentation (English only), all of the slides and handouts will be bilingual, English and Simplified Chinese. Attendees can choose to attend sessions presented in English or Chinese.

Session and Speaker Information

 

With the exception of the keynote talks, each training is 2 hours in duration. Click the speaker names below to read their complete biography.
 

Keynote: An Introduction to Metacognitive Teaching

Kimberley McKenna, ELG Speech-Language Pathologist

Metacognitive teaching is about creating a school environment where everyone is encouraged to think about what they are thinking, feeling or doing, and what the potential solutions are to any problems they are facing. In one simple form, metacognitive teaching is about turning pervasive command statements such as “sit down” and “get a pencil” into metacognitive questions such as “where should you be right now?” and “what things do we need?”. Metacognitive teaching involves collaborative whole-class solution-finding, through getting children to work together to answer questions such as “what can I do if I am stuck?”. Asking metacognitive questions provides children with the opportunity to become self-regulated, independent and organized learners, whilst also improving their overall cognitive capabilities. It is beneficial for children (and adults) of all ages, so let’s get practicing!

Language: English with Bilingual Slides

Keynote: Teaching in a Neuroscience Informed Way

Dr. Davy Guo, ELG Psychologist

Through gaining insight into how the brain is designed to evolve, we can step into and understand the world of the child at each age and stage of development. Equipped with this knowledge, you will then learn metacognitive teaching methods that specifically fit young children’s unique neurological development profile, which in turn will stimulate their global development in the classroom setting.

Language: English with Bilingual Slides

The Metacognitive Way to Learn Through Play and Manage Tricky Behavior

Dr. Shari D. Rosen, ELG Speech-Language Pathologist & Founder & Tiffany Chen, ELG Speech-Language Pathologist

This session will provide practical classroom solutions and ideas regarding how to implement a learning-through-play approach within a classroom structure; how to maximize the use of themes as they relate to learning-through-play; and how to measure student progress in the context of play-based work. Further, we will explore metacognitive ways to manage tricky behaviors in the classroom, by recognizing and responding to the function of the behavior, which can be understood simply as either attention or avoidance.

Language: English with Bilingual Slides

How to Look at Stress with Mindfulness

Olivia Xiao, Octave Life Coach & Mindfulness Trainer

Through mindfulness, we are equipped to face today’s fast-paced world as well as the uncertainties that rise within us with greater clarity, composure and emotional intelligence. It breaks us from our repeat cycle of numbed autopilot and allows us to observe, think and feel, in real time, the whole variety of emotions we encounter on a daily basis. This short workshop will introduce some tools and strategies that enhance our personal life and professional life with skill, compassion and wisdom. Join us to understand how to incorporate this age-old practice into our present lives and thus not only survive, but thrive in our daily lives. 

You will learn how to use mindfulness to alleviate stress and anxiety through strategies (e.g. meditative) as well as insight (e.g. self-love).  This includes exploring one’s model of the world, and overcoming the tendency to produce stress-inducing expectations.

Language: Chinese with Bilingual Slides

Metacognitive Strategies for Supporting Speech-Language Development in the Multilingual Context

Kimberley McKenna, ELG Speech-Language Pathologist

This training will focus on speech-language development in the context of working with multilingual children. It will seek to facilitate a deeper understanding of childhood language development, and support teachers to explore the practical applications in their classroom setting. We will look at how to respond to children with speech-language challenges and/or low engagement, through visual aids and metacognitive prompts that encourage the development of positive thinking strategies. We will role-play different challenging situations.

Language: English with Bilingual Slides

How to Manage Children’s Behavior Through Emotional Engagement

Carol Wang, Ph.D., AITIA Family Learning Center Director

Through a series of activities, we will explore self-analysis and strategies you can employ to engage students emotionally. We will begin with an analysis of communication patterns, discussing the importance of understanding emotions in communication. We will discuss how to develop EQ and “make friends” with your emotions. We will then consider the perspective of students through an activity which will promote self-exploration on how emotions, thoughts, behaviors, and needs are connected. We will help you assess your self-awareness and point out common mistakes that are made in listening.

In the workshop, you will gain ideas about how to address mood in order to more effectively manage a student’s behavior, including a “5 step plan” for emotional engagement. You will have an opportunity to review examples of how the five steps can be put into place.  

Language: Chinese with Bilingual Slides

Metacognitive & Multisensory Approach to Dyslexia Interventions

Miriam McBreen, Ph.D. Candidate, ELG Reading Specialist

When supporting a child with suspected or diagnosed dyslexia, it can be hard to create effective coping strategies through basic resources. This training focuses on how to help the child understand their own unique dyslexia profile and how to undertake individual and classroom-based intervention activities in differentiated, metacognitive ways. Further, you will learn about how to build-in more multisensory learning for the benefit of the individual and whole class: making use of sound, sight, movement and touch at the same time. Evidence shows that this enhances memory, and the learning of written language (reading) in particular. Ultimately, the goal is to create long-term impact through self-understanding (I understand my unique dyslexia), self-reliance (I have strategies that work for me…and I know how to create new strategies, too) and self-confidence (I can do this!).

Language: English with Bilingual Slides

Metacognitive Approach to Emotional Learning

Dr. Davy Guo, ELG Psychologist

Metacognition is often discussed as a way to foster learning. However, it can also be effectively used for behavioral change and emotional regulation. Lead by a psychologist, this practical workshop will explore different ways in which metacognition is used for developing psychological well-being. These skills are important for psychologists and counselors but can also be useful for teachers who work with students every day.

Language: Chinese with Bilingual Slides

How to Look at Stress with Mindfulness

Olivia Xiao, Octave Life Coach & Mindfulness Trainer

Through mindfulness, we are equipped to face today’s fast-paced world as well as the uncertainties that rise within us with greater clarity, composure and emotional intelligence. It breaks us from our repeat cycle of numbed autopilot and allows us to observe, think and feel, in real time, the whole variety of emotions we encounter on a daily basis. This short workshop will introduce some tools and strategies that enhance our personal life and professional life with skill, compassion and wisdom. Join us to understand how to incorporate this age-old practice into our present lives and thus not only survive, but thrive in our daily lives. 

You will learn how to use mindfulness to alleviate stress and anxiety through strategies (e.g. meditative) as well as insight (e.g. self-love).  This includes exploring one’s model of the world and overcoming the tendency to produce stress-inducing expectations.

Language: English with Bilingual Slides

Creativity for Student Well-Being

Tingting Chen, ELG Art Therapist

In this training, you will learn interactive activities that give children permission to tap into the dynamic, creative, and vulnerable parts of themselves. Such activities facilitate metacognitive thinking about self and others and can be designed to raise self-confidence, self-expression, awareness of feelings, social competencies, cohesion, and collective wellbeing. In this experiential training, we will practice techniques and activities that can be easily built into the school curriculum, while also exploring broader techniques for whole group engagement, whatever the lesson.

Language: Chinese with Bilingual Slides

Preventing Teacher Burnout: Supporting Yourself and Others at Your School

Tingting Chen, ELG Art Therapist

Note: Tingting is the only Mandarin-speaking US-registered art therapist practicing in mainland China.

Like their students, teachers and leaders at international schools are often high-achieving individuals under immense pressure to achieve standards of excellence. For teachers and leaders who have relocated away from ‘home’, there is a sudden deficit in support network at a time when it’s often most needed. As a result, burnout – exhaustion, anxiety, apathy, and self-neglect – are all too common. Through counter-transference with students and colleagues, burnout can spread to the detriment of the whole school community. In this session, we will explore the critical importance of care towards self and others, trying out self-expression and other creative therapeutic activities you can use at home and school. Lastly, we will strategize about how we can share and model these practices with colleagues to support whole school wellbeing.

Language: Chinese with Bilingual Slides

How to Manage Children’s Behavior Through Emotional Engagement

Carol Wang, Ph.D., AITIA Family Learning Center Director

Through a series of activities, we will explore self-analysis and strategies you can employ to engage students emotionally. We will begin with an analysis of communication patterns, discussing the importance of understanding emotions in communication. We will discuss how to develop EQ and “make friends” with your emotions. We will then consider the perspective of students through an activity which will promote self-exploration on how emotions, thoughts, behaviors, and needs are connected. We will help you assess your self-awareness and point out common mistakes that are made in listening.

In this workshop, you will gain ideas about how to address mood in order to more effectively manage a student’s behavior, including a “5 step plan” for emotional engagement. You will have an opportunity to review examples of how the five steps can be put into place.  

Language: English with Bilingual Slides

Cost

The 8,800 RMB registration fee includes:
  1. 3 days of intensive metacognition workshops led by qualified therapists (speech-language pathologists, psychologists, reading and learning support specialists)
  2. 2 nights’ accommodation in Sangha’s Fellow Travelers Hotel (check-in Friday, October 25, check-out on Sunday, October 27)
  3. Lunch and dinner on Friday, October 25; all meals on Saturday, October 26; breakfast on Sunday, October 27
  4. Wellbeing and self-care activities led by Octave
  5. Taxes and fees
 
The registration fee does not include:
  1. Transportation to and from Sangha
  2. Additional spa or wellness services (discounts will be offered to attendees)

 

Email events@chinaelg.com for payment options and to lock in space for you and your colleagues!

Training Language

Bilingual slides (English and Simplified Chinese) will be offered for all sessions except the dyslexia workshop.
 
Two workshops will be presented simultaneously for attendees to choose from: one in English and one in Mandarin. 
 
Attendees will receive slides and handouts for all sessions at the end of the weekend.

Location

This training is located at the beautiful SANGHA BY OCTAVE retreat in Suzhou. Attendees will stay in the Fellow Travelers Hotel and additional wellness activities will take place onsite.

SANGHA BY OCTAVE is based in the immersive ex-urban retreat spread over 189,000 square meters of lakefront peninsula on Suzhou’s Yang Cheng Lake. SANGHA BY OCTAVE is only 15 minutes away from downtown Suzhou and a short 1-hour jaunt from cosmopolitan Shanghai. It is a place for mindful learning designed to enhance your connections with yourself, with others and with nature.

SANGHA BY OCTAVE is an integrated complex of wellness residences and learning facilities consciously created by master architect Calvin Tsao to be the embodiment of a vision of how such a community might work. One of the spaces within SANGHA BY OCTAVE – The Sanctuary – has won numerous architectural awards for its stunning design, elaborate interiors and exteriors, including UK Blueprint Awards, 2017 APIDA, and the A&D Trophy Awards.

Built with natural materials, OCTAVE’s aesthetics and design choices for SANGHA BY OCTAVE re-think the whole idea of space utilization, reconsidering the balance between personal space and communal space, to create a greater sense of closeness, of community.

Questions or difficulty registering? Email events@chinaelg.com.